Is it Bad to Ask God for Wealth and Fame?

Mind behind my Face is God answers prayers. Is it bad to ask for wealth and fame?

Have you really wanted something, but prayed for something less because you didn’t think you deserved to have what you wanted? In other words, you were not really saying or praying for what you wanted, you were praying around it. Then when you didn’t get what you wanted, you felt like, “maybe God doesn’t love me enough” or “maybe I’ll settle for this because this is good enough for me”.

I’ve been there! Honestly, I find myself in that place often. I have been afraid to pray bold prayers, to ask for things that are outrageous even though I know that I am asking for these things for a noble purpose. Truly, I’ve never really cared for big houses and fancy cars. Not that, there is anything wrong with those things, they are just not the first things I think about. I prefer to have great positive influence on young people and help a lot of them find the freedom to be themselves. Recently, I have realized that in order to do more, I need more, including more money. ‘Broke people’ can’t help ‘broke people’!

Where is this coming from?

I watched this video of Rick Warren, author of The Purpose Driven Life and he drew my attention to Psalm 72. This prayer was written by King Solomon, the wisest and one of the wealthiest men that ever lived. I decided to study this Psalm out for myself and I was amazed at how bold and confident Solomon was before God.

Basically, Solomon prayed for wisdom, wealth and fame. He asked to be given justice, righteousness, and good judgment (wisdom) so that the people he led will bear fruits of righteousness and prosperity. He says,

May the kings of Tarshish and of distant shores
    bring tribute to him.
May the kings of Sheba and Seba
    present him gifts.
May all kings bow down to him
    and all nations serve him.” vs.10-11

He is talking about himself. Can you imagine praying for kings from all nations to bow down to you? This is like Obama praying for all presidents from all over the world to come and pay homage to him. It may sound very self-serving.

Solomon, however reveals his intention:

“For he will deliver the needy who cry out,
    the afflicted who have no one to help.
He will take pity on the weak and the needy
    and save the needy from death.
He will rescue them from oppression and violence,
    for precious is their blood in his sight.” vs.12-14

The reason why he wanted all these things is because he wanted to help the needy and those without a voice, he had compassion on the oppressed. He planned to use his wisdom, wealth and fame to help the less fortunate.

If you know Solomon’s story, God answered ALL his prayers. God gave him wisdom, which he used to speak up for the oppressed (1 Kings 3), the Queen of Sheba came to visit him with gold, and he truly was wealthy 1 Kings 10.

What’s my conclusion?

I can ask God for anything I want as long as I have the right motives and a bigger cause than myself. As a friend once told me, ask God for exactly what you want because he always does things bigger and better than I expect.

Then, you can ask, “Why did God answer his prayers and why is He not answering mine?”

Two things I can think of:

1) “You do not have because you do not ask God. When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.” James said it better than I ever could in the second and third verse of chapter 4 (James 4:2-3).

2) Do you have faith? What’s the belief of your mind?

“I tell you the truth, if anyone says to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart but believes that what he says  will happen, it will be done for him. Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it and it will be yours.” Jesus said in Mark 11:23-24.

What’s the Mind behind your Face on wealth and fame?

 

About Ajab

I love diving into the deep of one's soul... listening to the fortress being told without saying much.
Aside | This entry was posted in Spirituality, Wealth and Fame and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is it Bad to Ask God for Wealth and Fame?

  1. The psalm reads well also as a prayer for a national leader by citizens of his nation. I’ve pondered what would happen if, instead of criticizing leaders and questioning their motives, we prayed prayers like this one for them.

Leave a Reply

